Job interviews

Had four this month. I’m not even joking. The waiter job even had me for a few hours serving three tables. It’s a bar, so at all times my brain had this anxious little voice murmuring “strangers are drinking, you’re interacting with strangers who are drinking“.

Waiter has to be real damn aware of the surroundings. And I am not a person who is aware of their surroundings. So it wasn’t the best shot. If I’m told: go do this – I’ll do it, I’ll do it as best I can, honestly. But tell me something vague as in “people came in, go get them menu!” and I’ll be lost, for I SAW NO PEOPLE COME IN! Where are they, where did they go, did they sit down, what table?

Still, this is a story I’ll tell you.

There were three people at “scene table“. American man and this other guy, later a woman joined them. American was kind, Lithuanian man was so-so. As evening went by I told him a few times that we’re out of this, that, this, and that too beers, until I simply memorized the ones we had and asked maybe he wants one of those. On top of it, his peas were late, and no one knew why, really. Yet I don’t think it was what made his evening (I worked from 18 to nearly 21). Whatever they spoke of, whatever they did, later in the evening he strolled over to me and asked to be allowed to pay for HIS part of the meal, and promptly stormed off. Some time later the other two came over to pay up too, and asked to sit at a less scenic table. (these people left me about 2 euros of tips, it’s pretty normal in Lithuania for people to be cheap-ish tho).

Then there were 5 students. Few beers, few snacks shared among them. Decent bunch. But students are students. They didn’t stay long.

My last table was also my first table. Two lads, in honest conversation. A single meant-for-sharing meal they shared, and dark strong beers. Each time I passed I asked if there’s anything more they’d like, and four times they asked for another beer. These fella’s accidentally left me a little too little money, but luckily they stood there waiting to make sure they counted right. After I told them their mistakes, they fixed it and left me 3 euros of a tip, and then stumbled out carefully, with a slight swing at their heels.

I got the plates, I emptied ashtrays, I ran back and forth from fridges to check the bottled beers, I rounded my corners to avoid knocking down all the glasses. Kitchen people were super nice. That’s not why I wouldn’t like having this job.

Later I got back alone on the bus, texting friend back and forth. She assured me I’m in the right one, and explained when I should anticipate my stop. Even made me tea when I got back, and a sandwich with that nice mustard that’s so rare to find (I love mustard). And then her kitten made his way onto my lap.

All in all, I am very happy they asked me to try this out, and that I actually dared doing so. I came over lots of real huge fears I had. Like bus rides. Turns out our capital has the best ticket system. You just buy a ticket on your phone, it’s timed, not distance-ed, you get onto the bus, activate it, and if asked, either show it, or allow the code to be scanned from your phone, and that’s it. No one asked me tho, so I just got in, sat there, and enjoyed the ride, happy I took a hoodie with me.

So. Drunk people, bus rides, staying at other people’s places, eating at other people’s places when those said people are not home (friend had work the next day), talking to strangers, etc. This was definitely the beast break through I had.

Leave a Reply

